Indian Political Map With States And Capital PDF

‘India Political Map’ PDF Quick download link is given at the bottom of this article. You can see the PDF demo, size of the PDF, page numbers, and direct download Free PDF of ‘India Political Map’ using the download button.

New India Political Map PDF Free Download

Indian Political Map Details


The distance from the country’s northern border to its southern coastline is 2,930 km (1,820 mi), and from the west coast of Gujarat to the border with Bangladesh in the east 2,040 km (1,267 mi).

India covers an area of 3,287,263 km², making it the 7th largest country in the world, compared it is about 45% of the size of Australia, about 40% the size of the contiguous USA, or one third the size of Europe.


India is the second most populated country on the planet. 1.36 billion people (in 2019), almost one-fifth of the world’s population, live on the Indian subcontinent.

India’s population is quite diverse with two thousand ethnic groups, four major language families, and more than 120 languages, however, more than 40% of the Indians speak Hindi, besides English, both official languages of the country.

Here we give a link to download various maps of India.

You can download the Indian political map with all states and union territories with their capital.

And, you can download the outline map(Blank Map) and do print and use it for study purposes and make a map by your own self.

Survey of India also provides map JPG formate image in three languages Hindi, English, And Sanskrit, that you can download from the below link.

And another map includes National roads and railway connections which give you a good idea about connectivity.

India is located in southern Asia. It is bordered by the Arabian Sea, Laccadive Sea, and the Bay of Bengal to the south; Bhutan, Nepal, China, and Pakistan to the north; and Bangladesh and Myanmar (Burma) to the east.

The India Political map shows all the states and union territories of India along with their capital cities. It comprises a total of 28 states along with eight union territories.

India is officially known as the Republic of India. It comprises a total of 28 states along with eight union territories.

India is the second most populated country in the world and the world’s largest democracy.

The country’s coastline measures 7,517 kilometers in length, out of which 5,423 kilometers belong to peninsular India, and 2,094 kilometers belong to Andaman, Nicobar, and Lakshadweep island chains.

Additionally, the Indian naval hydrographic charts along with mainland coastline include 43% of sandy beaches, 36% of mudflats, marshy shores of 10%, and rocky shores of 11%.

Broadly, India is divided into six major zones: East India, West India, North India, South India, Northeast India, and Central India.

 Eastern India includes the states of Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, West Bengal, and a union territory Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The total population of these states is 226,925,195.

The Eastern zone covers a total area of 418,323 sq km Bengali is the dominant language in the state of West Bengal.

In contrast, Odia and Hindi are the principal languages in the states of Odisha, Bihar, and Jharkhand. English, Maithili, Nepali, and Urdu are other languages spoken in Eastern India. 

The Western region of India covers a total area of 508, 052 sq km Some of the popular states of western India are Gujarat, Goa, and Maharashtra Union Territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli, and Daman & Diu.

Mumbai, the financial capital of India, is the capital city of Maharashtra. The states of western India have a prosperous economy with a relatively high standard of living. Official languages of the Western Indian states are Marathi, Gujarati, Konkani, and English.

The five states of North India are Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Haryana with union territories of  Delhi (National Capital Territory), Chandigarh, Ladakh, and Jammu and Kashmir.

The economy of northern India is growing at a fast pace. The most populous cities of North India are New Delhi, Lucknow, and Chandigarh.

Southern India covers states like Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, and Telangana with the union territories of Lakshadweep. and Puducherry.

Over 19.31% of India’s total area is occupied by these states and union territories. Bengaluru, the capital of Karnataka, is known as the ‘Silicon Valley of India’ because it is India’s leading exporter in the IT sector.

The most populated cities of South India are Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai, Coimbatore, Cochin, and Mysore.

Northeast India includes the seven sister states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram, Manipur, and Nagaland.

The Himalayan state of Sikkim and Jalpaiguri Division are two important parts of northeast India. There is a great ethnic and religious diversity within the seven sister states. The Central zone of India primarily refers to Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

States and Capitals of India 2023
S. NoStates NameCapitalFounded on
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)1 Nov. 1956
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 Feb. 1987
3AssamDispur26 Jan. 1950
4BiharPatna26 Jan. 1950
5ChhattisgarhRaipur1 Nov. 2000
6GoaPanaji30 May. 1987
7GujaratGandhinagar1 May. 1960
8HaryanaChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
9Himachal PradeshShimla25 Jan. 1971
10JharkhandRanchi15 Nov. 2000
11KarnatakaBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)1 Nov. 1956
12KeralaThiruvananthapuram1 Nov. 1956
13Madhya PradeshBhopal1 Nov. 1956
14MaharashtraMumbai1 May. 1960
15ManipurImphal21 Jan. 1972
16MeghalayaShillong21 Jan. 1972
17MizoramAizawl20 Feb. 1987
18NagalandKohima1 Dec. 1963
19OdishaBhubaneswar26 Jan. 1950
20PunjabChandigarh1 Nov. 1956
21RajasthanJaipur1 Nov. 1956
22SikkimGangtok16 May. 1975
23Tamil NaduChennai26 Jan. 1950
24TelanganaHyderabad2 Jun. 2014
25TripuraAgartala21 Jan. 1972
26Uttar PradeshLucknow26 Jan. 1950
27UttarakhandDehradun (Winter), Gairsain (Summer)9 Nov. 2000
28West BengalKolkata1 Nov. 1956
Union Territories and Capitals
Union Territories NamesCapitalFounded on
29Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
30ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
31Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
32DelhiNew Delhi9 May. 1905
33Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer) , Jammu (Winter)31-Oct-19
34LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
35PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
Language English
No. of Pages2
PDF Size0.44 MB

Alternative Download

Blank Political Map of India with white background for student and you can also print it out

Download Blank Printable Map PDF, Click Here

Related PDFs

Amarnath Yatra Route Map PDF

India Political Map PDF Free Download

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!