Indian Nobel Prize Winners List With Photo PDF

‘List of Indian Nobel Prize Winners With Photo’ PDF Quick download link is given at the bottom of this article. You can see the PDF demo, size of the PDF, page numbers, and direct download Free PDF of ‘Nobel Prize Winners List From India’ using the download button.

Nobel Prize Winners List 1901 To 2022 In India PDF Free Download

Indian Nobel Prize Winners List with Photo

History of the Nobel Prize

Alfred Nobel, known for his invention of dynamite, was a Swedish chemist, engineer, and industrialist who died in 1896.

Before they died in 1895, he signed his last will to use all of his assets and fortunes to establish five prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Economics, and Peace, which were later collectively called the Nobel Prizes.

The Prize money for this comes from the bequest left by Alfred Nobel himself.

  • Shockingly, in 1888, a French newspaper published the obituary of Alfred Nobel, who was alive at that time, with the title, ‘The Merchant Of Death Is Dead’. 
  • He was traumatized by reading his obituary in the newspaper & decided to change his own will so that people remember him for a lengthy time. 
  • Throughout his entire life, Alfred Nobel wrote various wills, but the ultimate one was composed just a year before he died in 1895, as we had discussed, and was signed at the Swedish–Norwegian Club in Paris. 
  • The will was not approved by the Storting in Norway until 1897.
  • Thereafter, a Nobel Foundation was formed by the executors of such will, Ragnar Sohlman, and Rudolf Lilljequist, to take care of his assets & to organize the awarding of the Nobel Prizes. 
  • The foundation has been exempted from all the taxes in Sweden since 1946 & from investment taxes in the United States since 1953. 

the Nobel Prize in India?

List of Indian citizens who won the Nobel Prize  Each recipient of the Nobel Prize is known as the Laureate, a prize that was first instituted in 190, and among the recipients, 12 are Indians (five Indian citizens and seven of Indian ancestry or residency).

Nobel LaureatesNobel Prize CategoryContributions
Rabindranath Tagore The Nobel Prize in Literature, 1913Rabindranath Tagore was a writer, song composer, playwright, essayist, painter & whatnot. He was awarded the prestigious award due to his profoundly sensitive, fresh, and beautiful verse.
CV Raman The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1930CV Raman was awarded the prestigious award ‘for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him’. He discovered the ‘Raman Effect’, the phenomenon of change in wavelength in deflected light rays. 
Mother Teresa The Nobel Prize in Peace, 1979Mother Teresa won the prize ‘For work undertaken in the struggle to overcome poverty and distress, which also constitutes a threat to peace’. She earned the Nobel Prize in 1979. 
Amartya Sen The Nobel Prize in Economic Studies, 1998Amartya Sen was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Studies ‘for his contributions to welfare economics’. He made contributions to welfare economics, social choice theory & the measure of the well-being of citizens in developing countries etc.
Kailash Satyarthi The Nobel Prize in Peace, 2014In 2014, Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai were jointly awarded the prestigious award ‘for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of children to education’. 

List of Indian-born Nobel Laureates

  • Har Gobind Khorana – The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1968
  • Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar – The Nobel Prize in Physics 1983
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan – The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009

List of Nobel Laureates with Indian Links

Ronald Ross – The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 1902

Rudyard Kipling – The Nobel Prize in Literature 1907

14th Dalai Lama – The Nobel Peace Prize

V. S. Naipaul – The Nobel Prize in Literature 2001

Abhijit Banerjee- The Nobel Prize in Economics 2019

Can the Nobel Prize be given posthumously?

The first Nobel Prize was bestowed on 10 December 1901. Although Nobel Prizes are not awarded posthumously (meaning prizes awarded after a person’s death), if a person is awarded a prize and dies before receiving it, then the prize is presented.

Only two persons have been given the prize posthumously to date i.e., before 1974, the Nobel Prize has only been awarded posthumously to Dag Hammarskjöld (Nobel Peace Prize 1961) and Erik Axel Karlfeldt (Nobel Prize in Literature 1931)

How much is a Nobel Prize worth?

In 2021, the Nobel Prize was worth around 10 million Swedish kronor i.e., around 10 crores INR.

The award money has increased over the years, and only a handful of laureates have won it with increased worth, but only in the last three decades.

Language English
No. of Pages4
PDF Size1 MB

Nobel Prize Winners List 1901 To 2022 In India PDF Free Download

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!